Sloped

Adventure and Life in the Arctic

Isolated

6 Comments

Some of the more beautiful moments in Barrow:

Chronic loose dog offender and general tyrant of Barrow. Classified as a nuisance, this monster is one of my favorites in town, I have never seen such a happy, stinky, obnoxious, pain in the ass animal, and I love everything about him. Especially when he breaks loose and takes off, tongue lolling, like he planned the whole thing, down the street after the school bus while the kids cheer him on.

Loose dogs are a chronic and sometimes dangerous problem in town, but there is this one group of dogs, a failed sled dog team, that brings joy to my heart every time I see them. These dogs are giant and full of life, but I’ll be damned if they don’t look like wolves running through town. They aren’t the ones to worry about though, it’s the ‘Barrow’ breed that is the real danger. These dogs are the typical street dogs you think of that run in packs and there is no discernible dominant breed, except some type of husky/lab/shepherd/pitbull/border collie/thing, and they are tough as nails.

Sea Ice

I don’t like walking on the sea ice, it creeks and cracks, its quiet and eerie, but when the wind whips across it unabated it howls so loudly that you can’t think.  Polar bears come to shore this time of year and the white of the ice and snow and the sun make it so hard to see, its truly a dangerous thing to walk the ice. Yet, I can’t resist the unnatural blues and teals that the ocean produces, makes it look like candy.

The kids don’t float sign. The sign is so morbid in front of such a beautiful scene. I didn’t even notice the sign said ‘kids don’t float’ until we lived here for about 4 months.

Maybe I didn’t notice, because for 8 months out of the year, the sign is posted up in front a giant shelf of ice that would support a stadium of trucks that stretches for 10 miles, the other 4 months it serves as a tiny boat launch for the whalers.

Sunset over the Arctic Ocean. This picture was taken just a week before the sundog over the gas station, which you can see to the right in this one. I can’t believe how quickly the sun dances change across the sky here.

The Graveyard at Sunrise. All the crosses are wooden and not built to last, but this one of the most beautiful and heartfelt graveyards I have ever been in.

Sundoggin' over the gas station, just after sunset.

Sundoggin’ over the gas station, just after sunset.

11:00 pm Sunset

11:00 pm Sunset

The Satellite Dishes. This field of wonders is just across the trail from the graveyard. This place is one of my favorites in the town.

The Satellite Dishes. This field of wonders is just across the trail from the graveyard. This place is one of my favorites in the town.

Beauty in the strangest of places, but I am worried I am going to blowout something in my camera or blind myself. I can’t believe how much more furious the sun seems here, you almost need a welders mask just to be outside, and try to go out without something over your eyes? Be prepared to see stars for about 3 hours if you’re lucky, usually it ends with a blinding migraine and bumping into countless walls, muttering, I can’t believe I did that again, I miss the dark!

Polar Bear Paw At Point Barrow on the edge of the Chukchi

Polar Bear Paw
At Point Barrow on the edge of the Chukchi

Polar Bear outside football field

Polar Bear outside football field

The football field is a a little ways outside the main part of town near the college, the polar bears rarely make it too far into town except along the edge of the ocean, lucky for me, my window in my office looks right out across the sea ice.

Aurora Borealis at deserted village outside of Barrow

Aurora Borealis at deserted village outside of Barrow

Over the winter, I saw many auroras, this one was the only picture. The legends for children say that these are the elders and when you see them the are reaching down to grab naughty children and carry them into the sky. I can see why it would look like hands in the sky, I didn’t realize how fast they move and shimmer, but I think its sad that a lot of kids are now afraid of these beautiful things now.

6 thoughts on “Isolated

  1. Let me borrow Barrow for a while 🙂

    • I’ll be visiting Anaktuvak Pass at the base of the Brookes Range in two weeks, hoping to get some equally awesome pictures there. Hoping, maybe with less snow for once, I haven’t seen the dirt on the Slope since the first day I landed in Barrow!

  2. Amazing photos! I live in such a temperate country that I can only just imagine living in constant cold would be like.

    • You very much get used to it, Washington had a very constant mild climate and when we first moved here, we got very sick, my little one the worst, but we walk everywhere, so we had to toughen up quick. Now we joke that 15 F is T-shirt weather 🙂

  3. Yep. I would’ve lost my shiznit if I were that close to a polar bear that I could snap a picture of it. I’m a city slicker, through and through. I just have to worry about devious squirrels.

Leave a Reply

